top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnson Kwan

Explore the architect

Updated: Apr 2, 2019

When I have been moving to Kowloon after my secondary school, I found out that I spend really less time to look at the city. Everyday is just another day, so this have given me chance to have a deeper view to the city I live.


In recent years, Choi Hung Estate is becoming more and more famous to the visitors and locals. It is one of the symbol for Hong Kong, showing the "Lion Rock Spirit" of Hongkonger with it's very Hong Kong style architect.


The Visit


When we looking at the photographs of Choi Hung Estate, there must be filled with people and tourist taking selfies. It is so magical that there isn't any people on the day I visit. I tried to stand in the middle and experience the buildings. The perspective of viewing gives me a very powerful feel at the space. And the very quiet environment really help to relax and experience the place. The building pattern is very well organised and the colour create cohesion to each other.


After a 30 minutes stay at the spot, I walk down to the MTR station and leave, the big contrast of people talking and rushing to get into gate is generated in my mind.


Calm and Anxiety


As I tried to think about the contrast in just a 5 minutes walk between the estate and MTR station, from the very silent place to the very Hong Kong style Ruch in the station. I have found that the rushing behaviour of Hong Kong people is fully affect by the environment, people will sit down or jogging in the park because there nothing for them to rush for. Meanwhile, in the MTR station people are busy to catch the next train, side by side with the speedy announcement of train delay or arrival. People's anxiety increases and their emotion causes them to become so rush. If everyone slow down in the MTR station, it can very weird and strange.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page